Skip to main content

Seahawks Make Roster Moves, Establish Initial 2022 53-Man Roster

The Seahawks made a series of roster moves Tuesday to establish an initial 53-man roster.


The Seahawks reduced their roster to 53 players on Tuesday by releasing veteran cornerback Justin Coleman, waiving 21 players and placing rookie linebacker Tyreke Smith on injured reserve.

It's worth noting this time of year that the roster established on cut day is rarely the same one a team will have for its Week 1 game. The Seahawks, like every team, will scour the waiver wire with every other team making cuts Tuesday, so they could add players Wednesday via waivers, or at any other time between now and the start of the regular season. And if teams have injured players they want to be able to put on injured reserve while still being able to return later in the season, those players have to be on the initial 53, then placed on IR after the fact. Players put on injured reserve prior to roster cuts must miss the entire season.

With that caveat in mind, here are a few things that stand out about the initial roster:

Seven of Seattle's nine draft picks made the team: Charles Cross, Boye Mafe, Kenneth Walker III, Abraham Lucas, Coby Bryant, Tariq Woolen and Dareke Young. The only picks not making the team were fifth-round pick Tyreke Smith, who was placed on injured reserve, and seventh-round pick Bo Melton, who figures to be a practice squad candidate should he clear waivers.

Even with seven draft picks making the team, a pair of undrafted rookies, safety Joey Blount and outside linebacker Joshua Onujiogu, also made the team.

The Seahawks currently have only one backup inside linebacker behind Jordyn Brooks and Cody Barton, veteran Nick Bellore, who can also handle fullback duties. Even if the Seahawks weren't to add to that position, they could elevate a player from the practice squad on gameday to create depth there.

Seattle waived Freddie Swain, meaning Seattle will have both a new No. 3 receiver and a new punt returner. Dee Eskridge is a candidate to fill both of those roles, though when healthy Marquise Goodwin was the No. 3 receiver early in camp.

Here is the full list of moves:


CB Justin Coleman


WR J.J. Arcega-Whiteside
S Marquise Blair
LB Joel Dublanko
QB Jacob Eason
T Greg Eiland
WR Aaron Fuller
DT Jarrod Hewitt
WR Cade Johnson
LB Vi Jones
WR Kevin Kassis
TE Tyler Mabry
WR Bo Melton
LB Tanner Muse
S Scott Nelson
T Liam Ryan
C Dakoda Shepley
WR Freddie Swain
RB Darwin Thompson
LB Lakiem Williams
S Deontai Wiliams


RB Josh Johnson

Placed on Injured Reserve

LB Tyreke Smith

And here's a look at the initial 53-man roster:

Quarterback (2): Geno Smith, Drew Lock

Running Back (4): Rashaad Penny, DeeJay Dallas, Travis Homer, Kenneth Walker III

Receiver (6): Tyler Lockett, DK Metcalf, Dee Eskridge, Marquise Goodwin, Penny Hart, Dareke Young

Tight End (3): Will Dissly, Noah Fant, Colby Parkinson

Offensive Line (9): Charles Cross, Abraham Lucas, Jake Curhan, Stone Forsythe, Gabe Jackson, Damien Lewis, Phil Haynes, Austin Blythe, Kyle Fuller

Defensive Line (7): Poona Ford, Al Woods, Bryan Mone, Myles Adams, Quinton Jefferson, Shelby Harris, L.J. Collier

Linebacker (8): Jordyn Brooks, Cody Barton, Nick Bellore, Darrell Taylor, Uchenna Nwosu, Boye Mafe, Alton Robinson, Joshua Onujiogu  

Cornerback (6): Coby Bryant, Artie Burns, Sidney Jones IV, Michael Jackson, Tariq Woolen, John Reid

Safety (5): Quandre Diggs, Jamal Adams, Josh Jones, Ryan Neal, Joey Blount

Specialists (3): P Michael Dickson, K Jason Myers, LS Tyler Ott

Related Content