Skip to main content
Presented by

Wednesday Round-Up: Geno Smith & Longtime Seahawks Assistant Tom Catlin Finalists For PFWA Honors

Longtime Seahawks defensive coordinator Tom Catlin and quarterback Geno Smith are finalists for 2023 Pro Football Writers of America off-field awards.


Good afternoon, 12s. Here's a look at what's out there today — Wednesday, May 3 — about your Seattle Seahawks.

Longtime Seahawks Defensive Coordinator Tom Catlin & QB Geno Smith Finalists 2023 PFWA Awards

The 2022 season may be in the rearview, but the Pro Football Writers of America use this time of the year to honor work off the gridiron. A collective of the best writers covering professional football annually vote on a set of awards for players, coaches and others in the game who make a difference off the field.

Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith is a finalist for the George Halas Award, given to the player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity. After a near-decade drought since his last season as a full-time starter, the West Virginia alum led the NFL in Completion Percentage (69.8) and earned his first Pro Bowl nod. Smith’s efforts also earned him the 2022 Associated Press and PFWA Comeback Player of the Year Honors. He's up against stiff competition, including New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley, Buffalo Bills safety Damar Hamlin, Washington Commanders running back Brian Robinson Jr. and San Francisco 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey.

Late former Seahawks defensive coordinator Tom Catlin is a finalist for Paul "Dr. Z" Zimmerman Award, a lifetime achievement handed to assistant coaches of great success for extended periods.

From 1983-1991, Catlin would serve under late Seahawks Legendary coach Chuck Knox, producing multiple defensive player of the year recipients and a 1991 defense that held a previous record of just 261 points allowed. After Knox' departure in 1991, Catlin remained with the organization, serving as linebackers coach until 1995.

Another nominee with local ties is Ben Arthur of Fox Sports, who is a finalist for the Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award.

Following the untimely death of esteemed Kansas City Chiefs writer Terez Paylor in 2021, the PFWA launched the Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award. As was exhibited by Paylor, the committee honors individuals under 30 who display exemplary work ethic, a commitment to improving league diversity and dedication.

Arthur, who now covers the AFC South for Fox Sports, previously covered the Seahawks for the Seattle PI. Now with Fox Sports, Arthur is climbing the ranks covering the AFC South. The Athletic’s primary Seahawks beat reporter Michael-Shawn Dugar was a finalist for the same award each of the past two seasons.

Social Post Of The Day

NFL Network Analyst Bridget Condon breaks down why Illinois cornerback Devon Witherspoon was the right pick for the Seahawks at No.5

More from Around The Web

Bob Condotta of the Seattle Times: Former Seahawk DT Poona Ford signs with Bills.

All 10 of Seattle's 2023 draftees, from first-round cornerback Devon Witherspoon to seventh-round running back Kenny McIntosh.

Related Content