Skip to main content

Tyler Lockett Named 2021 Steve Largent Award Winner

The accolades continue to pile up for Seahawks receiver Tyler Lockett in 2021, who was named the recipient of the Steve Largent Award.

Tyler Lockett was presented with the 2021 Steve Largent Award at Lumen Field on December 26, 2021.
Tyler Lockett was presented with the 2021 Steve Largent Award at Lumen Field on December 26, 2021.

The accolades continue to pile up for Seahawks receiver Tyler Lockett in 2021, who was named the recipient of the Steve Largent Award.

After accomplishing a feat previously only accomplished in franchise history by Steve Largent, Seahawks receiver Tyler Lockett noted the similarities the two share, beyond the obvious football talents.

"It's funny because we've got the same birthday and we were born and raised in the same hometown, Tulsa, Oklahoma," Lockett said after joining Largent as the only two players in team history to record three consecutive 1,000-yard receiving seasons. "It's just pretty funny that something like that would happen."

But in addition to being a prolific pass-catcher from Tulsa who was born on September 28, Lockett also is similar to Largent in that he is one of the most respected players in his team's locker room, is a tireless worker, and is as dedicated to making the world a better place as he is to catching footballs and helping the Seahawks win. And all of that is why Lockett, who is in his seventh season with the Seahawks, was named the winner of the Steve Largent Award.

The Steve Largent Award, which was first given out to Largent in 1989, the final season of his Hall of Fame career, is voted upon by players and presented to the player or coach who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks.

Lockett is one of three current Seahawks to win the award, joining linebacker Bobby Wagner, who won the award in 2017 and quarterback Russell Wilson, who won it three times (2012, 2018, 2019).

It's just the latest accolade for Lockett in what has been an impressive year on and off the field. Last month, Lockett was named Seattle's nominee for both the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, as well as the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

"He's a direct reflection of what greatness is, what purity is in terms of leadership and community," said Wilson, one of two Seahawks to win three or more Largent Awards, along with fullback Mack Strong, who won five. "He does it all at the highest level. I'm excited for him. He's had an amazing career so far, and he's got so much more ahead of him. I think this is just another accolade that shows who he is as a player."

In addition to the work Lockett is doing to uplift youth through his Light It Up Foundation—just part of what he has done to make a difference in the community both in Seattle and his hometown of Tulsa—he has also has been enjoying one of the best seasons of his career on the field.

With 1,023 yards, Lockett not only joined Largent in exclusive company with three straight 1,000-yard seasons, he's also just 34 yards short of his career-high mark set in 2019, and his 16.5 yards-per-catch average is the second best of his career. And Lockett's five 100-yard games this season are the second most by a Seahawks pass-catcher behind Steve Largent's six in 1979.

"He's been a marvelous pro," Seahawks coach Pete Carroll said earlier this season. "I say that because of his consistency, and his consistency at such a high level. He has never not been at the top level of play. He isn't always recognized for it for whatever reason, although I think in the past couple of years his numbers have been so crazy positive that everybody is aware of him. He continues to make huge plays happen in the game and he makes difficult plays look routine."

Added left tackle Duane Brown, "Lockett is just one of the best people I've ever met. To have someone like him in our locker room I think has helped us tremendously. Obviously, people see the kind of player he is, but the conversations that you have with him, seeing the work he does in the community, he's all about positivity. The message he sends is nonstop positivity and just giving you different insights on how to view life in certain situations."

Here is the history of Steve Largent Award winners:

  • 1989 WR Steve Largent
  • 1990 DE Jacob Green
  • 1991 LB Rufus Porter
  • 1992 DE Jeff Bryant & DT Joe Nash
  • 1993 FS Eugene Robinson
  • 1994 WR Brian Blades
  • 1995 LB Terry Wooden
  • 1996 DT Cortez Kennedy
  • 1997 LB Winston Moss
  • 1998 DE Michael Sinclair
  • 1999 LB Chad Brown
  • 2000 RB Ricky Watters
  • 2001 FB Mack Strong
  • 2002 FB Mack Strong
  • 2003 QB Trent Dilfer
  • 2004 FB Mack Strong
  • 2005 FB Mack Strong
  • 2006 FB Mack Strong
  • 2007 WR Bobby Engram
  • 2008 Head Coach Mike Holmgren
  • 2009 QB Matt Hasselbeck
  • 2010 CB Roy Lewis
  • 2011 DT Red Bryant
  • 2012 QB Russell Wilson
  • 2013 S Earl Thomas
  • 2014 S Kam Chancellor
  • 2015 CB Richard Sherman
  • 2016 S Kam Chancellor
  • 2017 LB Bobby Wagner
  • 2018 QB Russell Wilson
  • 2019 QB Russell Wilson
  • 2020 LB K.J. Wright
  • 2021 WR Tyler Lockett

The Seattle Seahawks take on the Chicago Bears at Lumen field for Week 16 of the 2021 season. This album will be updated throughout the game. Game Action photos are presented by Washington's Lottery.

Related Content