Skip to main content
Presented by

Thursday Round-Up: Super Bowl XLVIII Champion Seahawks Tied For Top Team Since 2002 NFL Realignment

The Athletic ranks the top Super Bowl champion teams of the last 20 years, with the 2013 Seahawks tied for the top spot.

round up sep 29

Good morning, 12s. Here's a look at what's out there today — Thursday, September 29 — about your Seattle Seahawks.

Super Bowl Champion Seahawks One of the Top Teams of the Past 20 Years

It's been 20 years since the NFL's last conference realignment, and to celebrate that anniversary, The Athletic takes a shot at ranking the Top-20 Super Bowl champs to lace 'em up in that time. In 2001, the Seattle Seahawks would leave the AFC West, returning to their original conference alignment in the NFC West. 

Austin Mock and Mike Sando break down the work put in to create the list and the criteria.

Of course, the best team in a given season doesn't always win it all, especially in the absence of the seven-game playoff series that other sports use to prevent a single outlier game from determining championship fates. While ranking the last 20 Super Bowl winners, we'll point out which ones ranked especially high or low among all 640 teams from the past 20 seasons.

To produce a ranking fairly, we compared every team's metrics to its peers' metrics in that specific season. Metrics were then adjusted onto the same scale to "level" the playing field. From there, the teams' metrics were leveraged to project points for (xPF) and points against (xPA) when facing an average NFL team. We then derived a projected margin of victory (xMOV) and a projected win percentage (xWIN) against an average team.

_Using the model to rank all 640 teams from 2002 through last season, the 16-0 Patriots from 2007 came out on top, followed by three mid-2000sIndianapolis Colts teams. None of those teams won Super Bowls, however, so they are not listed below. We'll mention them for context while stacking the past 20 Super Bowl winners, beginning with a tie at the top, and ending with a champ that ranked only 333rd out of those 640 total teams.


The 2013 Seahawks are tied for No. 1 on the list, an unforgettable squad with plenty of weapons on offense and a defense led by the‘Legion of Boom’ secondary. Mock and Sando break down why the 2013 team earns their position.

T-1. 2013 Seattle Seahawks

xWIN:T-1st | xMOV: 2nd | xPF: 12th | xPA:2nd

Seattle added defensive linemen Michael Bennett and Cliff Avril to a defense already featuring emerging young stars in Earl Thomas, Richard Sherman, Bobby Wagnerand Kam Chancellor. The upgraded pass-rush helped Seattle hold all but three opposing offenses to less than 21 points in 19 total games. Among the past 20 Super Bowl winners, the model ranks only the 2002 Buccaneers higher than this Seattle team in adjusted points allowed.

The 2014 Seahawks were defeated by No.3 in the Athletic's rankings list - the 2014 New England Patriots. Check out more on the rankings of the best super bowl champs since the realignment here.

Social Post Of The Day

The ever-elusive Kenneth Walker III showing why he was the 2021 Doak Walker and Walter Camp awards winner

More From Around The Web

K.J. Wright of Seattle Sports 710AM on The issue with the Seattle Seahawks defense and how to fix it

Michael Bumpus of Seattle Sports 710AM: Why Seahawks tight ends need to play big role in offense.

The Seahawks and Lions face off on Sunday, Sept. 17, 2023 at Ford Field. Kickoff is set for 10:00 a.m. PT. Take a look back through history at the Seahawks' matchups against the Lions.

Related Content