Skip to main content
Presented by

Thursday Round-Up: Seahawks Geno QB Smith Nominated For Seattle Sports Star Of The Year

Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith has been nominated for Seattle Sports Commission’s Seattle Sports Star of the Year, Men’s Sports. 

round-up jan 12

Good morning, 12s. Here's a look at what's out there today — Thursday, January 19 — about your Seattle Seahawks 

Geno Smith Nominated for Seattle Sports Commission's Seattle Sports Star of the Year, Men's Sports

It's been a monumental year for Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith, setting both career and team records during his 2022 campaign as a starter. Now the West Virginia alum has a chance to become the third Seahawk in as many years to win Seattle Sports Commission’s Seattle Sports Star of the Year, an award Tyler Lockett won last year, with K.J. Wright winning two years ago.

Over 4,200 passing yards, 30 passing touchdowns and leading the league in completion percentage (69.8) helped Smith lead the 9-8 Seahawks to a playoff berth while earning his first Pro Bowl nod.

From partnering with local businesses to give back turkeys for Thanksgiving, to playing video games and signing autographs at Seattle Children's Hospital, Smith has used the recent spotlight on him to continue his philanthropic works throughout Emerald City.

Seahawks Legends Tyler Lockett and K.J. Wright have taken home Sports Star of the Year honors thus far this decade.

Some past Seahawks recipients of the Sports Star of the Year honors:


Listen To The Hawk Talk Podcast

Every week, Michael Bumpus and Nasser Kyobe release two podcasts analyzing the Seahawks previous game and previewing the next Seahawks opponent. Available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and wherever else you get your podcasts.

○    1983 Curt Warner

○    1984 Chuck Knox

○    1985 Steve Largent

○    1987 Fredd Young

○    1988 John L. Williams

○    2003 Matt Hasselbeck

○    2005 Shaun Alexander

○    2007 Bobby Engram

○    2012 Marshawn Lynch

○    2013 Russell Wilson

○    2014 Seattle Seahawks (Team)

○    2014 Earl Thomas

○    2015 Michael Bennett

○    2016 Bobby Wagner

○    2020 K.J. Wright

Fans can vote for Smith for the 2022 Seattle Sports Commission Sports Star of the Year, Men's Sports, as well as the Women's Sports Star and Sports Story of the Year here.

Social Post Of The Day

9 years ago today, Seahawks Legend Richard Sherman sent the San Francisco 49ers home in the NFC Championship before making the post-game speech heard 'round the world. #Seahawks

Go behind the scenes with team photographer Rod Mar as he shares moments from the Seahawks' Wild Card game vs. the San Francisco 49ers on January 14, 2023 at Levi's Stadium. Eye On The Hawks is presented by Western Washington Toyota Dealers.

Related Content