Skip to main content

Bobby Wagner Named 2023 Steve Largent Award Winner

Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner was presented with the Steve Largent Award prior to kickoff of Sunday’s game against the Steelers.


Bobby Wagner's return to Seattle has been a big success on and off the field, and on Sunday the Seahawks great received yet another honor, being named this year's winner of the Steve Largent Award.

Wagner was presented the award on the field by Largent prior to kickoff, his second time winning the prestigious Steve Largent Award, which is voted upon by teammates and given to the player or coach who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks.

Prior to winning the Largent Award, Wagner was also named the team's nominee for both the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Wagner has since been named one of eight finalists for the Rooney Award, which, like the Man of the Year Award, will be announced at NFL Honors during Super Bowl week.

Wagner, who has been named a first-team All-Pro six times in his career, the most in franchise history, and is an eight-time Pro-Bowl selection, became the third player in league history to record 100 tackles in 12 straight seasons. His 154 tackles through 15 games are the fourth most in his career, and Wagner also has 3.5 sacks and 10 tackles for loss.

Wagner has also made a big impact off the field this year, as was the case throughout his decade with the Seahawks before spending the 2022 season in Los Angeles.

Earlier this year, Wagner launched the FAST54 campaign in partnership with Virginia Mason Franciscan Health, which raises awareness for the signs of stroke and raises money for the Phenia Mae Fund, which is named in honor of his mother, Phenia Mae, who he lost to a stroke when he was in college.

Wagner also continued his recent tradition of paying off school lunch debt for students in the Renton School District, and through his Tackle Everything Tech Tour, Wagner has taken students on visits to tech companies such as Google, Microsoft, Amazon, Snap, Boeing, Bessemer Ventures, Marcy Ventures and others in an effort to expose students to tech careers.

"Sometimes I just see stuff, like I heard about somebody not being able to afford school lunch, and I found out that if you can't pay that balance off in elementary school, it follows you into middle school," Wagner said when he was nominated for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award earlier this season. "I didn't know that. I wouldn't have known that unless I got put in that situation, so you try to help that. It's just being around a lot of people who are doing a lot of amazing things, and seeing if I can either be a part of it or try to do my part to make a positive change."

Wagner has also become a big supporter of Historically Black Colleges and Universities in recent years, starting with the simple act of wearing sweatshirts of HBCUs in postgame press conferences, and continuing with him choosing the HBCU Foundation as the recipient of the money when he was named as the Man of the Year Nominee in 2019. This year, Wagner participated in the Seahawks' first-ever HBCU tour in partnership with Seattle Public School's WHOLE Mentoring Program, and The BE Project.

On that trip, Wagner surprised unsuspecting students when the tour stopped at Howard University in Washington, D.C., also spending time with the Howard football team. Then, when the Seahawks recapped the students' trip with a 15-minute documentary, Wagner surprised the group with new Jordans when they visited the team training facility for a documentary viewing.

Beginning in January, Wagner will start an MBA program at Howard, something of a full-circle moment for someone who, being from the West Coast, didn't really know HBCUs were an option for him coming out of high school.

"All the work I've done with HBCUs, it's kind of allowed me the opportunity to go back and get my MBA," he said. "That will be a cool full-circle moment."

Here is the history of Steve Largent Award winners:

o   1989 WR Steve Largent

o   1990 DE Jacob Green

o   1991 LB Rufus Porter

o   1992 DE Jeff Bryant & DT Joe Nash

o   1993 FS Eugene Robinson

o   1994 WR Brian Blades

o   1995 LB Terry Wooden

o   1996 DT Cortez Kennedy

o   1997 LB Winston Moss

o   1998 DE Michael Sinclair

o   1999 LB Chad Brown

o   2000 RB Ricky Watters

o   2001 FB Mack Strong

o   2002 FB Mack Strong

o   2003 QB Trent Dilfer

o   2004 FB Mack Strong

o   2005 FB Mack Strong

o   2006 FB Mack Strong

o   2007 WR Bobby Engram

o   2008 Head Coach Mike Holmgren

o   2009 QB Matt Hasselbeck

o   2010 CB Roy Lewis

o   2011 DT Red Bryant

o   2012 QB Russell Wilson

o   2013 S Earl Thomas

o   2014 S Kam Chancellor

o   2015 CB Richard Sherman

o   2016 S Kam Chancellor

o   2017 LB Bobby Wagner

o   2018 QB Russell Wilson

o   2019 QB Russell Wilson

o   2020 LB K.J. Wright

o   2021 WR Tyler Lockett

o   2022 WR Tyler Lockett

o   2023 LB Bobby Wagner

Check out some of the best action shots from Week 17 vs. the Pittsburgh Steelers at Lumen Field on December 31, 2023. Game action photos are presented by Washington's Lottery.

Related Content