Skip to main content

Seahawks Don't Use Franchise Tag

As has usually been the case under Pete Carroll and John Schneider, the Seahawks did not use the franchise tag ahead of Tuesday’s deadline.


The deadline for NFL teams to use the franchise and transition tags came and went on Tuesday without the Seahawks electing to use either, a decision that didn't come as a big surprise given the team's history with tags under Pete Carroll and John Schneider.

Since those two took over in 2010, the Seahawks have used the franchise tag only twice, tagging kicker Olindo Mare in 2010, and defensive end Frank Clark in 2019. Clark did not play under that tag, however, with the Seahawks instead trading him to Kansas City prior to the draft.

The Seahawks not using the tag means several starters from last season are set to become unrestricted free agents when the new league year begins on March 16, including safety Quandre Diggs, left tackle Duane Brown, running back Rashaad Penny, cornerback D.J. Reed, defensive tackle Al Woods, right tackle Brandon Shell, center Ethan Pocic and tight ends Gerald Everett and Will Dissly.

The Seahawks continue to hold exclusive negotiating rights with those players until March 14 when all teams can begin negotiation with free agents two days ahead of the start of the new league year.

Across the NFL, the franchise tag was placed on eight players: Bengals safety Jessie Bates, Browns tight end David Njoku, Cowboys tight end Dalton Schultz, Packers receiver Davante Adams, Jaguars tackle Cam Robinson, Chiefs tackle Orlando Brown, Dolphins tight end Mike Gesicki and Buccaneers receiver Chris Godwin.

Related Content