Skip to main content

Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner, Sebastian Janikowski and Neiko Thorpe Named 2018 Seahawks Captains

Seahawks players voted on team captains Monday, selecting Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner, Neiko Thorpe and Sebastian Janikowski. 

As is always the case when Week 1 of the regular season rolls around, Seahawks players voted on team captains Monday, selecting quarterback Russell Wilson on offense, linebacker Bobby Wagner on defense, and kicker Sebastian Janikowski and cornerback Neiko Thorpe on special teams.

"We're really happy to see those guys take a leadership role," Seahawks coach Pete Carroll said. "Obviously the team really liked them and felt that they were the right guys, so they'll be the guys who will take the leadership role, as well as a bunch of other guys who will contribute too."

This marks the sixth straight year Wilson has been voted captain of the offense, while Wagner will hold that title for the third time in the last four years. This is Thorpe's first time as a captain in three seasons with the Seahawks.

Throughout the offseason, Carroll pointed to the presence players like Wilson and Wagner—as well as veterans like receiver Doug Baldwin, left tackle Duane Brown and linebacker K.J. Wright—to explain why he had no concerns about his team's leadership despite the departure of some high-profile veterans. So it comes as little surprise that Wagner and Wilson were both singled out by their teammates for leadership roles.

"I don't know that you can find a better guy to be a voice and representative of your team than Russell Wilson and Bobby," Carroll said in March at the annual league meetings. Bobby Wagner is as good of a leader as you could ever hope for. He has done everything in terms of consistency and production and toughness and mentality, everything about him. He and Russell are great leaders, K.J. Wright is a fantastic leader, Doug Baldwin is an incredible leader. We have not lacked for those kinds of players who step to the front and are willing to send the message and stand for what we're all about. I have no problem with the leadership aspect of our team at all. We're in terrific shape."

Here's a look at who has been voted team captains since Pete Carroll and John Schneider took over in 2010:

  • 2018: Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner, Sebastian Janikowski, Neiko Thorpe
  • 2017: Russell Wilson, Kam Chancellor, Bobby Wagner, Jon Ryan
  • 2016: Russell Wilson, Kam Chancellor, Jon Ryan, DeShawn Shead
  • 2015: Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner, Jon Ryan
  • 2014: Russell Wilson, Kam Chancellor, Steven Hauschka, Jon Ryan
  • 2013: Russell Wilson, Red Bryant, Heath Farwell
  • 2012: Max Unger, Red Bryant, Heath Farwell, Michael Robinson
  • 2011: Tarvaris Jackson, Marcus Trufant, Michael Robinson, Leon Washington
  • 2010: Matt Hasselbeck, Lofa Tatupu, Roy Lewis

Photos from Monday's practice at Virginia Mason Athletic Center in preparation for Sunday's game against the Denver Broncos.