Skip to main content

On this date: Walter Jones elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

A look at some memorable moments in Seahawks history that occurred on Feb. 1


Walter Jones, a nine-time Pro Bowl left tackle, is elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. His selection comes the day before the Seahawks would win their first Super Bowl. In another first, the announcement of Jones' election comes as part of the nationally televised "NFL Honors" ceremony on Saturday night at Radio City Music Hall in Manhattan.


Warren Moon is named MVP in the Pro Bowl after leading the AFC to a 29-24 victory. Moon directs the AFC to points on each of his three series, including his 1-yard TD run with 1:49 left to play. Moon also passes to Tim Brown for a 57-yard gain that sets up Eddie George's 4-yard TD run in the fourth quarter and the Seahawks' Michael Sinclair recovers a fumbled snap that leads to Moon's decisive score. Darryl Williams also recovers a fumble in the game.


Fredd Young recovers a fumble to set up the only touchdown in the game as the AFC wins the Pro Bowl 10-6. Jacob Green also recovers a fumble and has a tackle for a loss, while Steve Largent and Bobby Joe Edmonds also are on the NFC squad.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.