Skip to main content

Seahawks Don't Use Franchise Tag In 2021

For the 10th time in 12 offseasons under Pete Carroll and John Schneider, the Seahawks elected to not use the franchise tag. 


The deadline for designating franchise players passed on Tuesday, and the Seahawks once again declined to use the tag.

That decision means players like cornerback Shaquill Griffin, running back Chris Carson and linebacker K.J. Wright will become unrestricted free agents when the new league year begins next week.

The Seahawks have used the franchise tag only twice in 12 offseasons under general manager John Schneider and head coach Pete Carroll, tagging kicker Olindo Mare in 2010, and tagging defensive end Frank Clark in 2019, a move that set up an eventual trade to Kansas City.

League-wide, 10 players were tagged ahead of the deadline: Carolina tackle Taylor Moton, Chicago receiver Allen Robinson, Dallas quarterback Dak Prescott, Denver safety Justin Simmons, Jacksonville tackle Cam Robinson, New Orleans safety Marcus Williams, New York Giants defensive tackle Leonard Williams, New York Jets safety Marcus Maye, Tampa Bay receiver Chris Godwin, and Washington guard Brandon Scherff.

Related Content