Skip to main content

Seattle Seahawks Wide Receiver Jermaine Kearse Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The Seahawks wide receiver is one of 32 nominees for the NFL's second-annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Seattle wideout Jermaine Kearse is one of 32 nominees for the NFL's second annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Each team nominated one of its players for the award which recognizes athletes who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The award was created last season in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr. Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald was the award's inaugural recipient.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will help determine this year's winner, with Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg, and Leonard Wheeler selecting eight finalists from the 32 initial nominees. The eight NFL Sportsmanship Award finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot when current players vote on Dec. 18, when teams will submit a consensus vote for the award's winner.

Outside of Kearse, this year's Sportsmanship Award nominees include a few more players with Seahawks ties. Former Seahawks quarterback Matt Hasselbeck, now with the Indianapolis Colts, and former Seahawks running back Justin Forsett, now with the Baltimore Ravens, are also up for the honor, as is Atlanta Falcons cornerback Desmond Trufant, the younger brother of former Seahawks cornerback Marcus Trufant.

The award's winner will be unveiled Saturday, Feb. 6 during the nationally televised "5th Annual NFL Honors" show set to take place the night before Super Bowl 50, when he'll receive a trophy and $25,000 donation to a charity of his choice.




Arizona Cardinals

DT Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons

CB Desmond Trufant

Baltimore Ravens

RB Justin Forsett

Buffalo Bills

QB Tyrod Taylor

Carolina Panthers

LB Luke Kuechly

Chicago Bears

RB Matt Forté

Cincinnati Bengals

LB Vinny Rey

Cleveland Browns

QB Josh McCown

Dallas Cowboys

LB Sean Lee

Denver Broncos

WR Demaryius Thomas

Detroit Lions

WR Calvin Johnson

Green Bay Packers

LB Julius Peppers

Houston Texans

T Duane Brown

Indianapolis Colts

QB Matt Hasselbeck

Jacksonville Jaguars

DT Sen'Derrick Marks

Kansas City Chiefs

LB Derrick Johnson

Miami Dolphins

DT Earl Mitchell

Minnesota Vikings

LB Chad Greenway

New England Patriots

T Nate Solder

New Orleans Saints

TE Benjamin Watson

New York Giants

RB Rashad Jennings

New York Jets

LB David Harris

Oakland Raiders

S Charles Woodson

Philadelphia Eagles

LB DeMeco Ryans

Pittsburgh Steelers

CB William Gay

San Diego Chargers

QB Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

WR Jermaine Kearse

St. Louis Rams

DT Aaron Donald

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

CB Jason McCourty

Washington Redskins

RB Alfred Morris

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.