Seahawks Sign 14 Players to Practice Squad, Including LB Shaquem Griffin

Griffin and seventh-round pick Stephen Sullivan were among the players who cleared waivers and signed to the practice squad today.

Seahawks linebacker Shaquem Griffin stretches on the grass at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte before facing the Panthers.

A day after the Seahawks announced their initial 53-man roster for the 2020 season, they signed 14 players to the 16-man practice squad. While in previous seasons, the practice squad was 10 players, with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, teams agreed to bring the number up to 16.

Shaquem Griffin was the most notable of the names added to the squad. Griffin appeared in all 16 games for the Seahawks in both 2018 and 2019, but after being waived on Saturday, there was a possibility of another team putting in a claim and separating the Griffin brothers for the 2020 season. With today's move, they will remain united in Seattle.

Stephen Sullivan, a tight end out of LSU, was a seventh-round draft pick of the Seahawks. General manager John Schneider traded a sixth-round pick in 2021 to move back into the draft to select Sullivan. Schneider identified the versatile pass-catcher as more of a "developmental prospect," and now that development will continue on the Seahawks practice squad.

Tackle Chad Wheeler, defensive back Ryan Neal, wide receiver Penny Hart and wide receiver Cody Thompson all spent time on the Seahawks practice squad in 2019. Wheeler was promoted to the active roster in the week leading up to the divisional round match-up vs. the Packers.

Quarterback Danny Etling, wide receiver Lance Lenoir and defensive back Jayson Stanley had all been claimed off waivers by the Seahawks this offseason.

The remaining players added to the practice squad had originally signed as undrafted rookie free agents. They are tackle Tommy Champion, wide receiver Aaron Fuller, defensive back Gavin Heslop, defensive tackle Cedrick Lattimore and tight end Tyler Mabry.

The 14 players signed to the practice squad are below:

  • Tommy Champion, T
  • Danny Etling, QB
  • Aaron Fuller, WR
  • Shaquem Griffin, LB
  • Penny Hart, WR
  • Gavin Heslop, DB
  • Cedrick Lattimore, DT
  • Lance Lenoir, WR
  • Tyler Mabry, TE
  • Ryan Neal, DB
  • Jayson Stanley, DB
  • Stephen Sullivan, WR
  • Cody Thompson, WR
  • Chad Wheeler, T

Take a look at the Seattle Seahawks' initial practice squad for the 2020 NFL season.

Related Content