Skip to main content

Seahawks Do Not Use Franchise or Transition Tag

For the sixth straight offseason, the Seahawks did not use the franchise or transition tag.

With the deadline passing Tuesday afternoon, it is now official that the Seahawks will not use the franchise or transition tag in 2016.

League-wide, 10 players were franchised, including one in the NFC West, Los Angeles Rams cornerback Trumaine Johnson. Seattle has not used either tag since placing the franchise tag on kicker Olindo Mare in 2010, thanks in large part to their ability to sign key players to new deals before they hit free agency.

Under general manager John Schneider and head coach Pete Carroll, the Seahawks have signed key players such as Marshawn Lynch, Kam Chancellor, Earl Thomas, Richard Sherman, Doug Baldwin, K.J. Wright, Cliff Avril, Russell Wilson and Bobby Wagner to long-term extensions either in the offseason before the final year of their previous contracts, or in the case of Wright and Avril, late in the final season of their previous deals.


Seahawks coaches, scouts and front office staff are out in Indianapolis to watch draft-class talent preform at Lucas Oil Stadium for the 2016 NFL Scouting Combine. 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.