Skip to main content

Russell Wilson Named 2019 Steve Largent Award Winner

Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson was presented with the Steve Largent Award prior to Sunday’s game, his second straight year earning that honor.

Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson warms-up before an NFL football game against the San Francisco 49ers, Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019, in Seattle. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)
Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson warms-up before an NFL football game against the San Francisco 49ers, Sunday, Dec. 29, 2019, in Seattle. (AP Photo/Ted S. Warren)

For the second straight year, Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson has earned one of his team's highest honors, with teammates voting him the winner of the 2019 Steve Largent Award.

The Largent Award, which is voted on by Seahawks players, is given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks. The award was first handed out in 1989 to its Hall of Fame namesake in the final season of his record-setting career. Wilson is one of just three players in franchise history to win the award multiple times, and only the second to win it in consecutive seasons.

"I'm just grateful," Wilson said. "Steve Largent is one of the best football players to ever play the game, but also one of the best people too. He's a legend, so to win this award is a blessing. I give credit to God, I give credit to my teammates, this organization. This organization makes it easy for us to be successful playing the game we love."

Making the award particularly meaningful, Wilson said, is the fact that it is voted on by his teammates.

"It means a lot, because your teammates voted for it," he said. "More than anything, they're what really matters. I'm trying to represent the Seahawks, but also serve those guys every day and help them in whatever way I can."

Wilson is enjoying one of the best seasons of his eight-year career, and was voted the NFC's starting quarterback for the 2020 Pro Bowl. Heading into his final regular-season game, Wilson has completed 66.4 percent of his passes for 3,877 yards, 29 touchdowns and five interceptions, while averaging 8.1 yards per attempt, good for a 107.3 passer rating. Through 15 games, those numbers represent the third-best passer rating, the second-best competition percentage, the third-best yards-per-attempt average and the lowest interception total of his career. Wilson, who last week passed Matt Hasselbeck for the most passing yards in franchise history, is also just 123 yards away from the third 4,000-yard season of his career, and one touchdown from his fourth 30-touchdown campaign.

And in addition to his on-field greatness, Wilson has continued to make a big difference in the community through the work of his Why Not You Foundation and through his weekly visits to Seattle Children's Hospital. Earlier this year the Why Not You Foundation presented a check for $2,616,625 to Strong Against Cancer, money that was raised at Wilson's Celebrity Invitational Golf Tournament and through donations at Safeway and Albertson's stores throughout Washington. The Why Not You Foundation, in partnership with Safeway and Albertson's, has now donated more than $8 million to Strong Against Cancer over the past six years, money that funds life-saving immunotherapy treatment. The Why Not You Foundation also donated more than $700,000 over the past four years to Friends of the Children, a nationwide organization dedicated to breaking the cycle of generational poverty.

"When I came into the league, my goal was to be able to impact people and impact lives," Wilson said. "That's what I've always wanted to be able to do, in the community and in this building. I want to be able to give back and love and care for others, then also be able to win football games too."

Wilson, who was also the Largent Award recipient in 2012 and 2018, is one of only three players to win the award multiple times along with Kam Chancellor (2014, 2016) and Mack Strong (2001, 2002, 2004-2006), and is one of only two players to win it three or more times.

Here is the full list of Steve Largent Award winners:

  • 1989 WR Steve Largent
  • 1990 DE Jacob Green
  • 1991 LB Rufus Porter
  • 1992 DE Jeff Bryant & DT Joe Nash
  • 1993 FS Eugene Robinson
  • 1994 WR Brian Blades
  • 1995 LB Terry Wooden
  • 1996 DT Cortez Kennedy
  • 1997 LB Winston Moss
  • 1998 DE Michael Sinclair
  • 1999 LB Chad Brown
  • 2000 RB Ricky Watters
  • 2001 FB Mack Strong
  • 2002 FB Mack Strong
  • 2003 QB Trent Dilfer
  • 2004 FB Mack Strong
  • 2005 FB Mack Strong
  • 2006 FB Mack Strong
  • 2007 WR Bobby Engram
  • 2008 Head Coach Mike Holmgren
  • 2009 QB Matt Hasselbeck
  • 2010 CB Roy Lewis
  • 2011 DT Red Bryant
  • 2012 QB Russell Wilson
  • 2013 S Earl Thomas
  • 2014 S Kam Chancellor
  • 2015 CB Richard Sherman
  • 2016 S Kam Chancellor
  • 2017 LB Bobby Wagner
  • 2018 QB Russell Wilson
  • 2019 QB Russell Wilson

Pregame photos from the Seattle Seahawks' Sunday night matchup against the San Francisco 49ers during Week 17 of the 2019 NFL season at CenturyLink Field.