Skip to main content

Russell Wilson, Bobby Wagner and Jon Ryan Voted 2015 Captains by Seahawks Teammates

Seahawks players voted on captains Monday, naming quarterback Russell Wilson, linebacker Bobby Wagner and punter Jon Ryan the 2015 captains.

Seahawks players voted on captains for the 2015 season Monday, selecting quarterback Russell Wilson, linebacker Bobby Wagner and punter Jon Ryan.

"Three really good guys who really stand for everything we're all about," Seahawks coach Pete Carroll said. "Tough competitors and good leaders in every way, so we're lucky to have those guys chosen."

Wilson was voted the offensive captain for the third straight season, while Ryan was the special teams co-captain with Steven Hauschka last season. For Wagner, who was named first-team All-Pro last season, this is his first year as captain, taking over the honor from safety Kam Chancellor.

"I appreciate them voting me captain," Wagner said. "It's definitely a blessing, and I'm going to do my job to make sure this is the best defense."

Wagner isn't sure he would have been ready for this honor earlier in his career, but now will wear the C on his jersey with pride.

"I feel like I've grown a lot," he said. "When I first got here I was kind of just trying to get a feel for everything and just trying to play my role. But now I feel like I've got a grasp on everything and trying to continue improving as a player and a person."

It was Labor Day, but the Seahawks were at VMAC to begin the first regular season gameweek of the year against the St. Louis Rams.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.