Seahawks News | Seattle Seahawks –

Four Seahawks Selected To 2017 Pro Bowl

Renton, Wash. - The Seattle Seahawks will be represented in the 2017 Pro Bowl by defensive ends Cliff Avril and Michael Bennett, cornerback Richard Sherman and linebacker Bobby Wagner, the NFL announced this evening.

It will be Avril's first Pro Bowl trip in his nine NFL seasons, Bennett's second-consecutive Pro Bowl trip, Sherman's fourth-consecutive after being named All-Pro from 2012-15 and Wagner's third-consecutive honor.

Avril set a career-high this season with 11.5 sacks (T3rd NFL) and is second in the NFL with 25 quarterback hits. With each sack recorded, he is donating money to New Story Charity to build a house in Haiti for the communities that were affected by Hurricane Matthew.

Bennett ranks third on the team with 3.0 sacks and fourth with 14 quarterback hits, adding 29 tackles (19 solo).

Sherman leads the team with four interceptions (T6th NFL) and since 2011, his 30 interceptions and 94 passes defensed lead the NFL. He is also second on the team with 11 passes defensed.

Wagner leads the NFL with 145 tackles (74 solo) and became the first player in Seahawks history to record five-consecutive 100-tackle seasons. He is on pace to eclipse the franchise mark for tackles in a single-season, needing nine tackles in the last two games to accomplish the feat.

The Seahawks have eight alternates to the Pro Bowl; wide receiver Doug Baldwin, center Justin Britt, safety Kam Chancellor, tight end Jimmy Graham, kicker Steven Hauschka, return specialist Tyler Lockett, quarterback Russell Wilson and linebacker K.J. Wright. The player would be named to the team if a selected member of the squad cannot participate.

The 2017 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 29, 2017 and televised live on ESPN at 5 p.m. PT from Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla.

Defensive ends Cliff Avril and Michael Bennett, cornerback Richard Sherman, and linebacker Bobby Wagner have been voted to the 2017 Pro Bowl, while linebacker K.J. Wright, tight end Jimmy Graham, and receiver Doug Baldwin have been named to the game as injury replacements.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.