Skip to main content

Bobby Wagner, Earl Thomas & Ethan Pocic Earn PFWA Honors

Three Seahawks received postseason recognition from the Professional Football Writers of America.

Three Seahawks—linebacker Bobby Wagner, safety Earl Thomas and guard Ethan Pocic—received postseason recognition by the Professional Football Writers of America for their play in 2017.

Wagner was named the middle linebacker on the PFWA All-NFL team for the second straight season, one of six repeat selections along with Steelers receiver Antonio Brown, Broncos outside linebacker Von Miller, Cowboys guard Zack Martin, Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald and Rams punter Johnny Hekker.

This is just the latest honor for Wagner, who also made the Pro Bowl for a fourth consecutive season and earned first-team All-Pro honors for the third time in four years. Wagner also was named the team's Steve Largent Award Winner in December.

Thomas, meanwhile, was named to the PFWA All-NFC team at safety along with Minnesota's Harrison Smith. Thomas also earned Pro-Bowl honors for the sixth time in his career, being named a starter on the NFC squad.

Pocic, a second-round pick out of LSU in 2017, was named to the PFWA All-rookie team. After starting the season as a versatile backup capable of filling in at multiple positions, Pocic started the final 11 games of the season, first at left guard in place of an injured Luke Joeckel, then at right guard after Joeckel returned to action.

Take a look at some of the best fan photos from the 2017 season. 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.