Skip to main content

Seattle Seahawks Jim Zorn Ring Of Honor


Jim Zorn


Inducted into the Ring of Honor in 1991, Jim Zorn was the starting quarterback for the Sea­hawks during their inaugural season in 1976 and would remain at the helm for the next seven years. Named the NFC Offensive Rook­ie of the Year in 1976 as he led the NFL in attempts with 439 and set a then-record 2,571 passing yards, which was also a record for an expansion team. By the end of the 1979 season, Zorn became only the third player to throw for 10,000 yards in his first four seasons. In 1978, he earned numerous accolades, which included being named AFC Player of the Year by the Washington D.C. Touchdown Club and first-team All-NFL by the NEA. Zorn, along with former Seahawks QB Matt Hasselbeck, are the only two Seahawks quarterbacks to throw for 300 yards in back-to-back games which he accomplished twice, once in 1979 and again in 1981. Zorn finished his career leading the Seahawks in every passing category amassing 20,122 passing yards and 107 touchdown passes.