Seahawks QB Russell Wilson Named Steve Largent Award Winner

Posted Dec 30, 2012

Player that best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the team

RENTON, Wash. - Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson was named the recipient of the 2012 Steve Largent Award, which is voted on annually by the players. The award is given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks. The Largent Award is named after Seahawks Hall of Fame wide receiver Steve Largent, the first winner of the honor in 1989.
Wilson has made a tremendous impact on and off the field since he arrived in Seattle as the 75th pick overall in the third round of the 2012 NFL Draft.
He has led Seattle to an undefeated home record of 7-0, becoming the first rookie quarterback to start and win each of his team's first seven home games since the 1970 merger. Wilson is two touchdown passes away from breaking the NFL's rookie record and has run for more yards than any quarterback in Seahawks history.
Wilson serves as National Ambassador for the CR3 Diabetes Association, Inc., a non-profit organization that provides life saving diabetes supplies to those in need. He has set aside time each week to visit Seattle Children's Hospital throughout the season, partnered with Verizon Wireless to encourage Seattle high school students to take a pledge against texting and driving and has been active with the Seahawks Rookie Club and their community outreach including visits to a teen shelter and the Matt Talbot Center.
A complete list of Steve Largent Award winners is listed below.
1989                       WR Steve Largent
1990                       DE Jacob Green
1991                       LB Rufus Porter
1992                       DE Jeff Bryant and DT Joe Nash
1993                       FS Eugene Robinson
1994                       WR Brian Blades
1995                       LB Terry Wooden
1996                       DT Cortez Kennedy
1997                       LB Winston Moss
1998                       DE Michael Sinclair
1999                       LB Chad Brown
2000                       RB Ricky Watters
2001                       FB Mack Strong
2002                       FB Mack Strong
2003                       QB Trent Dilfer
2004                       FB Mack Strong
2005                       FB Mack Strong
2006                       FB Mack Strong
2007                       WR Bobby Engram
2008                       Head Coach Mike Holmgren
2009                       QB Matt Hasselbeck
2010                       CB Roy Lewis
2011                       DT Red Bryant

Recent Articles