Seahawks, Pete Carroll, Russell Wilson and Richard Sherman nominated for ESPYS

Posted Jun 24, 2014

Winning the Super Bowl has led to ESPYS nominations for the Seahawks, coach Pete Carroll, quarterback Russell Wilson and cornerback Richard Sherman.

The ESPYS will have a definite Seahawks’ Blue hue this year.

The Super Bowl champions, coach Pete Carroll, Pro Bowl quarterback Russell Wilson and All-Pro cornerback Richard Sherman were among the nominees for honors that were announced Tuesday. The annual awards show will be televised July 16 from Los Angeles.

The Seahawks never have won an ESPY, which were first awarded in 1993 by the cable network.

The Seahawks are up for “Best Team,” along with the NBA champion San Antonio Spurs, World Series champion Boston Red Sox, Stanley Cup champion Los Angeles Kings, NCAA football champion Florida State and NCAA women’s basketball champion University of Connecticut.

Joining Carroll in the field for “Best Coach/Manager” are University of Connecticut basketball coaches Geno Auriemma (women) and Kevin Ollie (men), Red Sox manager John Farrell and Spurs coach Gregg Popovich.

Wilson, who led the Seahawks to their first Super Bowl title in his second season, is up for “Best NFL Player.” Also nominated are Kansas City Chiefs running back Jamaal Charles, Carolina Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly, Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning and Philadelphia Eagles running back LeSean McCoy.

Sherman, who led the NFL in interceptions and turned in the Immaculate Deflection that iced the NFC Championship game, is nominated for “Best Breakthrough Athlete.” Also in the category are Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Nick Foles, Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers and New York Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka.

Fans can cast their votes in these categories, as well as many others, through July 16.